Alma Awards 2014: Honorees Include Guillermo Del Toro and Pitbull

Eva Longoria at the 2013 Alma Awards (Photo: Alma Awards)

We’re only 24 hours away from celebrating one of the biggest nights honoring Latinos: The 2014 Alma Awards. This year, Eva Longoria and Mario Lopez return as hosts of the all-star event that will be airing live on MSNBC and mun2 on Friday, October 10, 2014, at 10 p.m. EST/7 p.m. PST, followed by “After the ALMAs with Alex Wagner,” live on MSNBC at 11 p.m. EST/8 p.m. PST.

This year’s honorees include:

Award for Industry Excellence: Guillermo Del Toro presented by Zoe Saldaña

Special Achievement in Television: The Cast of “Orange Is the New Black” Selenis Leyva and Dascha Polanco

Special Achievement in Film: “Cesar Chavez”

Special Achievement in Music: Pitbull

Special Tribute: 2014 Hispanic Recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor presented by Michael Peña

Other honorees include the legendary presented with the Ricardo Montalban Award for Lifetime Achievement. Legendary rock en espanol band Café Tacuba will receive the NCLR ALMA de Tú Mundo Award, a joint award presented by NCLR and Telemundo in recognition of the band’s 25th anniversary of fusing rock, language and culture in to a global alternative rock scene.

Don’t forget to follow our social media feeds for up-to-the-minute updates live from the show via Twitter and Facebook.

Get ready for the fun by watching Mario Lopez interview Eva Longoria below:

[iframe http://xfinitytv.comcast.net/watch/Mario-Lopez%3A-One-on-One/5602758900354565112/329224259961/Eva-Longoria/embed 580 476]
The opinions expressed are solely those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Comcast.

, , , , , , , , ,